It’s Time for DODGERS BASEBALL!!!

Today begins my relationship with the Dodgers. Any fan will tell you that our devotion to our Sports Team is like a marriage. I’ve been married to the Dodgers over 30 years and I have always been there through the good times and bad times. I know that for the next 6 months, I am going to have my highs and lows. I am going to be happy one day and sad the next. There will be days where I will be filled with joy and others where I don’t want to talk about the game. There will be days where I can’t wait to get home and listen to Vin Scully give the play by play. There is something magical when listening to his voice.

As for this upcoming season, I am optimistic like always. Opening Day is like a honeymoon. Once the honeymoon ends, the tough work lies ahead. 2011 is the 30th anniversary of Fernandomania as well as the 30th anniversary since the Dodgers won their 1st World Series in the 80s, the 2nd coming back in 1988, which happens to be the last time the Dodgers have been in the fall classic.

I hope 2011 is the year that Dodgers make it to the World Series. I have been saying this for more than 20 years. It is just part of my Opening Day remarks. I have to let those words get out of my chest.

Like always, if the Dodgers stay healthy, I have big expectations. The moves that they made over the off season were alright. I think the pitching staff is decent. If the pitchers stay healthy, I expect blow out seasons for Clayton Kershaw, Chad Billingsley and great performances by the rest. The bullpen is going to be a big factor as the season goes along. If Jonathan Broxton shows any signs of meltdown, I say give the closer duties to K.J. or Kuo. The Dodgers should trade Broxton if he doesn’t perform at the level that he is capable.

This years team should be able a better defensive team than last year and more aggressive on the basepaths with the addition of Davey Lopes. I hope Matt Kemp and the rest have taken the techniques that Lopes has taught them and they implement those techniques in the games. Matt Kemp if he stays healthy should have at least a 30/30 season. Andre Either should be able to hit at least 25 home runs and drive in around 98 RBIs. James Loney has to be more aggressive at the plate and let his hands go. I hope he has a great season where he hits at least 20 homeruns with 110 RBIs and 42 doubles couple than with 18 stolen bases. If Juan Uribe has a little better season than last year, it will be great.

There is nothing better than starting the season facing ur hated rivals, the San Francisco Midgets. Clayton Kershaw vs Tim Lincecum should be a great pitchers’ duel. I can’t wait for today’s game and tuning in to Vin Scully. I am ready for what this season has to offer me. I hope more great memories than painful ones.

It’s time for DODGERS BASEBALL!!!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

