World Autism Awareness Day

Today is World Autism Awareness Day. With the successful lobby of Autism Speaks, it convinced the United Nations in 2007 to designate April 2nd as a day to bring awareness of Autism and focus on early diagnosis and early intervention.

Autism is a one of those issues that is difficult to tackle but not impossible. There is 1 out of 110 children in America that will be diagonsed with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD).

In my work as a family and youth counselor, I have been blessed to have worked with children who are autistic and although every child’s Autism is different, it has given me the experience to learn more about this issue and given me a greater love for advocates of Autism.

Right now, I have by far the most difficult case that I have ever had in all my years of being a family and youth counselor. I have an adolescent who is Autistic, non verbal and weighs over 500 pounds. I am slowly making progress on him. I am even learning some sign language signs so I can communicate with him because his parents have not taken the initiative to learn or even teach their son. So while I am teaching my client, I am also teaching the parents as well. He has responded to the few signs that I have taught him. So far, I have taught him how to say, mother, father, yes, sorry, what is your name, my name is, counselor, how are you doing and you are smart. He doesn’t know how to write his name so I am working on that. I understand that he may never be able to write his name but where there is Love, there is a way. I am learning that when he has a temper tantrum, having him color on a yellow pad calms him down. I am blessed to work with him as I feel that I have a lot to learn from him and he can learn some skills from my service.

Here is a great article on Autism Awareness Day.
This is what the NBA is doing to bring Autism Awareness.

For more information on Austism go to:

Leave a Reply

