Prayer by Carlos Mugica…”I dream of dying for them; help me to live for them.”

Lord, forgive me for getting used to seeing children
who seem to be eight years old
and are really thirteen.
Lord, forgive me for getting used to sloshing
around in the mud.
I can leave, they can’t.
Lord, forgive me for learning
to put up with contaminated water.
I can get away from it, they can’t.
Lord, forgive me whenever I switch on the light
and forget that they can’t.
Lord, I can go on a hunger strike but not they;
how can the hungry go on a hunger strike?
Lord, forgive me for telling them
that ‘not by bread alone does man live’
and not fighting all out for their bread.
Lord, I want to love them for them,
and not for me. 
Help me.
Lord, I dream of dying for them;
help me to live for them.
Lord, I want to be with them when the light comes.
Help me.

Carlos Mugica (10/7/30-5/11/74), member of the Movement of Priests for the Third World
in Argentina, liberation martyr, incorruptible prophet of the dispossessed, murdered by those
who fear to face a people free from oppression.
-found in Ethics and Theology of Liberation by Enrique Dussel 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

