Pictures Before and After I Shaved My Head

It has been a little over a month that I shaved my head for a great cause. It took me over 6 years letting my hair grow. Upon reflecting I decided that it was time for me to donate my hair. The reason I decided to donate my hair on May 5th had nothing to do with Cinco de Mayo. I donated my hair on May 5th because I wanted to treat myself with my new look by watching the Mayweather vs Cotto boxing fight. :-) For those that know me well know that I am a huge boxing fan. I felt that it was my way of rewarding myself for staying true to my promise and enjoying the fight with my friends.

When the day came for me to shaved my head, I was at peace. To be honest, I was preparing myself to cry. I don’t mind crying to express my emotions. I believe crying is a form of me limpiando mi alma. What really helped me was that I centered myself in prayer and reflection. There was a young boy who had cancer that came up to me and asked me if he could cut one of my braids. When he cut one of my braids, I told him to keep it. The smile in his face was the highlight of my day. It was that experience that I really wanted to shed tears.

During the time that I was having my head shave, the MC of the event was saying that I was donating my corn rolls. I don’t know but in my opinion, I didn’t have any corn rolls! It was funny and strange at the same time to hear the lady say that. I felt like telling her, “they are not corn rolls!” When my head was fully shaved, I kept the longest braid and the rest I placed them in a zip lock bag along with my contact information and donated them to Locks of Love.

It felt weird the first couple of days not having my hair. I found myself trying to put my hair in a pony tail and caught myself doing certain things that I use to do to play with my hair. The first 2 weeks were weird. Right now, I am use to my new look and I kinda like it. I have never gone through a whole summer with my hair short and I kinda like the breeze in my head when I’m playing sports🙂

I am attaching pictures of when I went to a friend’s house to have her braid my hair and pictures of my head being shaved and how I look with my short hair.
For those who still feel like donating, I am including the link below.

Hair_braidedGetting_my_hair_braidedGetting_my_hair_doneHaving_my_hair_braided1My_hair_fully_braidedPic_with_frReflectingThis_boy_made_my_dayShaving_my_head_for_a_great_caMinutes_after_i_cut_my_hairFreddyPic_with_father_g

Leave a Reply

