Bryce Courtenay, author of The Power of One, passed away at 79 years old

I just found out that Bryce Courtenay, author of the classic South African novel, The Power of One, passed away on Thursday, November 22, at the age of 79. I was first exposed to this amazing movie my sophomore year in high school in my history class. Seeing it as 15 year old adolescent really impacted me. I can honestly say that I learned about the cruel apartheid system through this movie. I almost cried watching the movie.
Little did I know that 5 years after watching this movie, I would be studying abroad in Cape Town, South Africa. I bought myself the book and reading it in south africa really got me emotional.
For those who have not seen this great film, I highly recommend that you watch it. I can guaranteed you that it will impact you in a very special way. One of my favorite movies of all time! The book is one of my favorite books of all time!
The world lost such an amazing story teller in Bryce. The Power of One is one of the greatest books ever written in my opinion. Here is the movie for those who want to watch it. The soundtrack to the movie is just beautiful!! I have my own copy!! It is that good!
Enjoy the movie and may Bryce Courtenay rest in peace!

Leave a Reply

