Remembering Nelson Mandela’s release from Prison

23 years ago today, Nelson “Madiba” Mandela was released from Robben Island after 27 years of imprisonment for his involvement in fighting the apartheid government in South Africa. Here is a video of his release from Robben Island, a place that I was fortunate to visit during the time I was in Cape Town in 2000.
As I watch the video, I am reflecting of my stay in Cape Town, South Africa. I was in Cape Town when South Africans were celebrating the 10 year anniversary of his release. Looking back, South Africa was barely 6 years old into the “new” South Africa. Mandela’s presidency had terminated in 1999 and Thabo Mbeki was new South African President taking office in June of 1999. As I look back, it really brings me joy that I was able to live for 6 months in a “new” South Africa.

Here is a song by Hugh Masakela that is one of my songs. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

