Remembering Madiba with Songs about Mandela & Anti-Apartheid

20131205_201208-1

20131205_200822

Like many people in this world, I was inspired by Nelson Mandela. When I studied abroad in Cape Town, South Africa, I had the opportunity to visit Robben Island and see Madiba’s cell. Being at Robben Island was an experience that I will never forget. Words won’t do justice to how much of an impact Nelson Mandela had on me. I think the best way to remember Mandela is to continue fighting for human rights and equality. Mother Jones once said, “Pray for the dead but fight like hell for the living.” I think this is the best way to honor Madiba’s legacy.

The pictures that I included are some of my books and movies about Mandela. I highly recommend people reading Richard Stengel’s book, Mandela’s Way, as well as his autobiography, Long Walk to Freedom.

Here are my top Nelson Mandela and Anti-Apartheid Songs in no particular order. I am including Victor Jara’s La Partida which means The Departed. It is one of my favorite songs. Enjoy them all!

Here is what I wrote on Madiba’s 95th birthday:

https://victorjara42.wordpress.com/2013/07/18/happy-95th-birthday-madiba-2/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

