MLK’s Last Speech: I’ve Been to the Mountaintop


It was on that famous April 3, 1968 that Martin Luther King Jr, gave a speech in support of the sanitation workers who were on strike in Memphis, TN. It was a speech that would go on to be his last speech but also a very prophetic speech that has been described as one of MLK’s famous speeches of all time. I have included this short clip of that famous, “I’ve Been to the Mountaintop,” speech here. Every time I see this video gives me the chills!

Below I am including the full speech for those who want to hear it in its entirely. Many people forget that MLK also gave his famous, “If I had sneezed” speech that same evening. For those who want to listen to that portion of his talk jump to 37:33 of the video.

Here is the transcript of MLK’s, “I’ve Been to the Mountaintop,” speech for those who want to read it.
http://mlk-kpp01.stanford.edu/index.php/encyclopedia/documentsentry/ive_been_to_the_mountaintop/

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

